Rose Ariadne's Chitchcraft Blog

Dear Friends,

We Wiccans like to have celebrations! Our calendar includes 13 full moon celebrations (Esbats) and 8 days of solar power (Sabbats). While the Esbats are for celebrating the Goddess, the Sabbats mark the Sun God’s yearly cycle. This is often referred to as the Wheel of the Year.

The story of the Year begins on the Winter Solstice, which is the shortest day of the year. This Sabbat is known as Yule, and we celebrate the Goddess giving birth to the God. It is a joyous celebration shared with friends and family. We light candles and keep the Yule log burning to welcome the Sun’s return and his warmth.

On February 2nd, we celebrate Imbolc. This is the Goddesses recovery from giving birth and the growth of the God. The days begin to get longer and the timing of the year quickens. Imbolc is the festival of light and fertilization. It is a time for purification, initiation and self-dedication. For those new to the path, it is a perfect time to dedicate yourself to the God and Goddess.

Ostara is the Spring Equinox. During this night, normally around March 21, the day and night are equal. The God is flourishing in his youth and he courts the Maiden Goddess. They begin a courtship and love is in the air. Ostara is a festival of fire, fertility and light.

Beltane (May 1st) is the day that the God emerges into manhood. This is the great fertility festival when we celebrate the marriage of the Goddess and God and the consummation of their relationship. The Goddess transforms from maiden to mother through the experience of sexuality.

Litha is the Summer Solstice and is the longest day of the year. It occurs on or around June 21st. The powers of nature reach their highest point. The earth is full of the fertility of the pregnant Goddess, and the God is at the height of his power. The longest day is marked by fire, and it is great for workings of empowerment, culmination and magick.

Lughnasad is celebrated on August 1st and marks the first harvest. The God is losing his strength and giving way to the harvest of the earth. The Goddess mourns as she watches the God fade away, but knows that he lives on as her child.
Nothing in the universe is a constant, and this celebration reminds us of this fact.

Mabon is the Fall Equinox and it occurs around September 21st. This is the completion of the harvest that started with Lughnasad. The day and night are exactly equal. The God leaves his body for rebirth as the next generation’s God. It is a time to enjoy the fruits of the summer’s labor and give thanks for all of the abundance you’ve received.

Samhain is the Witches? New Year and it occurs on October 31st. The God arrives in the Underworld. He opens the gates and souls are allowed to visit their loved ones. At this time, the veil between the worlds is lifted and we make contact with those that have passed before us. We celebrate the Festival of the Dead and reflect on the past year and celebrate our experiences.

The Wheel of the Year turns and turns, letting us experience the aspects of the God and Goddess. Our holidays can be seen reflected in the modern holidays that the rest of the world celebrates. Our holidays, however, are extensions of the natural rhythms of the earth and not greeting card celebrations. Understanding the Wheel of the Year can help you understand the rhythms of life and how the God and Goddess work.

Love And Light,

Rose Ariadne, Your Warm And Caring “Resident Witch In Charge”

Posted by Rose Comments Off

No Comments

No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.