Rose Ariadne's Chitchcraft Blog

Dear Friends,

I was recently speaking with a friend of mine who is still fairly new to our path. She had been reading about cardinal, fixed and mutable signs in a book, but the book had given no explanation as to what these terms actually meant in terms of astrology. I know many practitioners for whom astrology is an integral part of their everyday lives. I know others who don’t give astrology a second thought and don’t care to do so. As with so many things in our craft, choosing whether or not to weigh in on astrological matters is purely a choice of personal preference.

The word “cardinal” comes from the French word cardo, which is loosely translated to mean “a hinge” or a “pivot point.” In astrology, cardinal signs are signs that mark an integral part of something, a beginning. Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn are the cardinal signs of the zodiac. Not surprisingly, these signs are often associated with each of the four seasons. Aries corresponds to Spring, Cancer to Summer, Libra to Autumn and Capricorn represents Winter. Without the change of seasons, nature cannot grow and change as intended. Thus, these signs are the hinge upon which nature’s cycle rests. Those born under the cardinal signs have the ability to create and accomplish anything they set their minds to. Aries is a sign of enthusiasm and energy. It cannot wait to accomplish the plans of the mind, and though highly motivated, it can sometimes grow impatient due to it’s eager nature. Cancer uses the power of caring emotion to create and build. Librans are balanced and when faced with a task or project, Libra takes the viewpoints and considerations of others very seriously. Because it is an Air sign, Libra will typically use the power of language to accomplish it’s goals. Capricorn is the most practical of the cardinal signs, preferring to take a logical, down-to-earth approach to projects and tasks.

Maintaining and changing things to stay as they are is the primary concern of the fixed signs. At first glance, the terms “fixed” and “changing” may appear to present an oxymoron, but consider our bodies or a garden. If our bodies do not get the sustenance that they need, they will change into an undesirable state. The acts of eating, drinking and keeping ourselves in good health effectively “change” our bodies so that they remain as they currently are. The same can be said of a beautiful garden that is weeded, watered and tended to to keep it in its current, desirable state. The fixed signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius. Taurans are mainly concerned with stabilizing products of the self, especially material wealth. When the state of a personal accomplishment is threatened, Taurans are generally far more upset than many of the other signs. Leo is a sign of personal power, and will make changes to ensure that it’s impressive relationship with others is maintained. Scorpio is a sign of emotion. It desires to remain fixed in terms of others’ emotional reactions and will make the changes necessary to learn and understand the deepest feelings of others. Aquarians are fixed in relation to the mind and their personal beliefs. They seek to keep a stable circle of friends, and it is very difficult indeed to change an Aquarian’s mind on matters of personal ethics and morals.

The mutable signs are most comfortable when things are changing into something else. While the fixed signs will bring about their own controlled change to keep things as they are in relation to their personal needs and wants, the mutable signs are more likely to accept change and adapt their needs and wants to the changing world around them. They are concerned with moving from the end of one cycle to the beginning of another adventure. The mutable signs consist of Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. Gemini is an Air sign, concerned with words and communication. They adapt rather easily to their environment and can make themselves feel comfortable in almost any situation due to their keen communication skills. The Virgo is thoughtful and analytical, often to the point of criticism. It is through the powers of careful analysis that Virgo is able to bring about an end to a previous belief, thus changing and moving to a new state of mind or being. Sagittarius is a Fire sign and is primarily concerned with the pursuit of knowledge. Thus, Sagittarians are able to bring an end to ignorance and misunderstanding in order to move to a state of knowledge and truth. Pisces is the most emotional of the mutable signs and adapts and changes by immersing itself into the “oneness” of all things, bringing an end to raw emotion based on a specific situation or state of mind.

Many witches draw upon the power of their signs’ types and elements to make spells and ritual work more powerful depending on the time the work is performed. Others use the types when deciphering a birth chart to get a more specific astrological picture of themselves. However you choose to use (or not use) astrology in your spellwork and everyday lives, the most important thing to remember is to stay true to yourself and your deepest feelings and inclinations.

Brightest Blessings,

Rose Ariadne
Your Warm and Caring “Resident Witch In Charge”

Posted by Rose Comments 2


  1. silver wolf says

    I have studied astrology and it takes all the signs in your chart to determine how you will act and feel or even how you choose a partner. I am a Scorpio, with Libra rising, Mercury, Mars,Venus, Moon and sun in the sign of Scorpio, hey that is one intense witch. But it make you who you are. fixed & mutable will tell you something, but the whole chart will tell you who and what you are about.

    August 20th, 2009 | #
  2. Dear Rose

    I have study a little of the signs and believe it is very important for a witch to know what type of power he or she is consist of in their zodiac sign. I’m always thankful being your student and understanding your ways of the craft getting stronger in our religion. Your wisdom of this important astrology has open my eyes to what i need to do in developing my personal power to the fullest to make you proud of me. With love always.

    Sincerely Kenneth Your Loving Student and Friend.

    August 21st, 2009 | #

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.